Consumers now have more excellent protection from fraudulent inspectors with the new Washington State Home Inspector Licensing Act. The new law establishes minimum standards for education, experience, and training. Still, consumers must wade through the myriad of “certifications” to determine which are truly meaningful and which are just marketing gimmicks. Listed below are the requirements for obtaining home inspector licenses.
To get a license, applicants must first complete a background check at the state and federal levels. The FBI background check is separate from the criminal background check. Applicants should complete the criminal background check after mailing their application. Further information on these background checks is also included in the application. After passing the test, applicants must complete at least 24 hours of approved continuing education courses. However, many individuals opt for continuing education courses as these are an important part of building a successful career.
Once licensed, you must pass a home inspection exam. This test is difficult and a pass rate of about 55% is the minimum required to be licensed. For this reason, the ICA offers affordable home inspector license training and a flexible learning schedule. The online course materials and instructor resources are available at all hours of the day and night. In addition, students can work at their own pace and access them from any computer or mobile device. Consequently, they will never miss an important class instruction.
There are many requirements for licensing. A home inspector must complete 140 hours of pre-license education, as well as one hundred hours of paid or unpaid home inspection under the direct supervision of a licensed inspector. The final requirement for licensure is passing the Council Approved Home Inspector Exam. Once the license is issued, home inspectors must state their license on all materials. This requires a license, but it’s worth it for the added benefits it offers.
In addition to the state and provincial licensing requirements, InterNACHI provides online courses, training, and networking opportunities. InterNACHI has live training programs and Colorado. Non-members pay $49 per month. Membership in the organization offers access to thousands of free online courses. If you’re ready to join the InterNACHI, you can also enroll in the ASHI’s continuing education program. Once you are licensed, you can then get a license to work in the field.
While many states don’t require home inspectors to have a license, many require at least 60 hours of classroom education and an exam to qualify. Some require additional coursework as well, and many even require up to a year of on-the-job training. You must also have at least a high school diploma or the equivalent. However, these requirements vary from state to state, so be sure to research the requirements for your state to ensure you’re meeting the minimum requirements.
Getting a home inspector license in the state that you’re considering is easier than ever. In most states, a license is required only if the home inspector is compensated by a client, and if they work for the state. If they’re compensated by a client, they must be licensed by the Construction Contractors Board.
In the state, a professional engineer may provide home inspections for compensation. To become a licensed home inspector, a professional engineer must obtain a Certificate of Authorization to Practice Engineering Services. However, a sole proprietor licensed as a professional engineer is exempt from this requirement. If you’re planning to provide home inspection services to the general public, it’s best to register under a business name that is not an architect or professional engineer.
In addition to licensing, many states require you to pass an exam to practice your profession. Delaware, for example, requires all home inspectors to take the National Home Inspector Examination. You should register for this exam and make a deadline for yourself to take the test. Setting a deadline will help you be more disciplined and accountable, and may even be required in some states. It’s definitely worth it! However, remember that home inspection licensing requirements vary from state to state, so make sure you do your research.